Coverart for item
The Resource Cactus Jack : A Novel

Cactus Jack : A Novel

Label
Cactus Jack : A Novel
Title
Cactus Jack
Title remainder
A Novel
Creator
Subject
Language
  • eng
  • eng
Summary
Brad Smith rivals Elmore Leonard at his best (Publishers Weekly). His latest novel is for fans of Richard Russo and Richard Ford, a terrific horse racing novel about an untried colt, a band of misfits and has-beens who pull off a miracle and stick it to the establishment in the unscrupulous world of horse racing. Billie Masterson is a thirty-something chronic underachiever, drowning herself in alcohol and bad relationships in Ohio. She hasnt been home to the familys broken-down thoroughbred farm in Kentucky since college. Her mother committed suicide when Billie was a teen and she blames her father, Will Masterson. When Will drops dead while working on the farm, Billie returns to rural Kentucky for the funeral, intending only to pay her respects before high-tailing it back to Ohio. However, shes informed by her fathers lawyer, the garrulous David Mountain Clay, that she now owns the farmand all the debt that goes with it. Determined to sell everything, settle the debts and get out of town, Billie discovers that her fathers colt, a horse named Cactus Jack, is the object of obsession for billionaire Reese Ryker, the louche scion of a department store dynasty and now owner of Double R Racing, one of the top thoroughbred stables in the world. Billie is willing to sell everything to Rykeruntil she realizes that hes an entitled misogynist and a not-so-subtle racist. Against her better judgment, she decides to keep the farm and the untested horse. To do that she needs to race the animaland beat Ryker at his own game. Assisted by a team of misfits, including a washed-up trainer with whom she has a bit too much history, the horse-crazy little girl next door, and her fathers ex-girlfriend, Billie and Cactus Jack manage to do just that
Cataloging source
CaOWLBI
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Smith, Brad
Dewey number
[Fic]
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • FICTION
  • NATURE / Horses
Target audience
adult
Label
Cactus Jack : A Novel
Instantiates
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
pr05575993
Extent
288 pages
Immediate source of acquisition
Library Bound Incorporated
Isbn
9781950691456
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
pr05575993
Label
Cactus Jack : A Novel
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
pr05575993
Extent
288 pages
Immediate source of acquisition
Library Bound Incorporated
Isbn
9781950691456
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
pr05575993
Processing Feedback ...