Coverart for item
The Resource The devourers, Indra Das

The devourers, Indra Das

Label
The devourers
Title
The devourers
Statement of responsibility
Indra Das
Creator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"For readers of Neil Gaiman, Margaret Atwood, China Mieville, and David Mitchell comes a striking debut novel by a storyteller of keen insight and captivating imagination. On a cool evening in Kolkata, India, beneath a full moon, as the whirling rhythms of traveling musicians fill the night, college professor Alok encounters a mysterious stranger with a bizarre confession and an extraordinary story. Tantalized by the man's unfinished tale, Alok will do anything to hear its completion. So Alok agrees, at the stranger's behest, to transcribe a collection of battered notebooks, weathered parchments, and once-living skins. From these documents spills the chronicle of a race of people at once more than human yet kin to beasts, ruled by instincts and desires blood-deep and ages-old. The tale features a rough wanderer in seventeenth-century Mughal India who finds himself irrevocably drawn to a defiant woman--and destined to be torn asunder by two clashing worlds. With every passing chapter of beauty and brutality, Alok's interest in the stranger grows and evolves into something darker and more urgent. Shifting dreamlike between present and past with intoxicating language, visceral action, compelling characters, and stark emotion, The Devourers offers a reading experience quite unlike any other novel. Advance praise for The Devourers "A wholly original, primal tale of love, violence, and transformation. I've never read anything quite like it."--Pierce Brown, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Red Rising Trilogy "Astonishing. a narrative that takes possession of you and pulls you along in its wake."--M. R. Carey, author of The Girl with All the Gifts "Intense and thrilling. Indra Das's writing is powerful and precise."--Kim Stanley Robinson, author of Red Mars "Every sentence of this ferocious and extraordinary book pulses with life. An absolute masterpiece."--Daniel Jose Older, author of Half-Resurrection Blues "The Devourers tears the throat
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Das, Indra
Index
no index present
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • College teachers
  • Shapeshifting
  • Mogul Empire
  • India
Label
The devourers, Indra Das
Instantiates
Publication
Control code
2016008016
Extent
306 p.
Isbn
9781101967515
Lccn
2016008016
Label
The devourers, Indra Das
Publication
Control code
2016008016
Extent
306 p.
Isbn
9781101967515
Lccn
2016008016

Library Locations

    • Waverley Resource LibraryBorrow it
      285 Red River Road, Thunder Bay, Ontario, P7B 1A9, CA
      48.436426 -89.223125
Processing Feedback ...