Coverart for item
The Resource Daughters of smoke and fire : a novel, Ava Homa

Daughters of smoke and fire : a novel, Ava Homa

Label
Daughters of smoke and fire : a novel
Title
Daughters of smoke and fire
Title remainder
a novel
Statement of responsibility
Ava Homa
Creator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
The unforgettable, haunting story of a young woman{u2019}s perilous fight for freedom and justice for her brother, in the first novel published in English by a female Kurdish writer Set in Iran, this extraordinary debut novel takes readers into the everyday lives of the Kurds. Leila dreams of making films to bring the suppressed stories of her people onto the global stage, but obstacles keep piling up. Leila{u2019}s younger brother, Chia, influenced by their father{u2019}s past torture and imprisonment, and his own deep-seated desire for justice, begins to engage with social and political affairs. But his activism grows increasingly risky, and one day he disappears in Tehran. Seeking answers about her brother{u2019}s whereabouts and fearing the worst, Leila begins a campaign to save him. But when she publishes Chia{u2019}s writings online, she realizes that she too is in grave danger. A family friend with ties to Canada offers to help, but Leila must struggle to forgive him for his role in Chia{u2019}s disappearance. Daughters of Smoke and Fire is an evocative portrait of the stakes faced by 40 million stateless Kurds. A powerful story that brilliantly illuminates the meaning of identity and the complex bonds of family, it is perfect for fans of Khaled Hosseini{u2019}s The Kite Runner, Rawi Hage's De Niro's Game and Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie{u2019}s Half of a Yellow Sun
Cataloging source
NLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Homa, Ava
Index
no index present
Literary form
novels
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Brothers and sisters
  • Missing persons
  • Political activists
  • Iran
Target audience
adult
Label
Daughters of smoke and fire : a novel, Ava Homa
Instantiates
Publication
Control code
on1138556853
Dimensions
24 cm
Extent
xiv, 306 pages
Isbn
9781443460132
Isbn Type
(softcover)
Other physical details
map
Label
Daughters of smoke and fire : a novel, Ava Homa
Publication
Control code
on1138556853
Dimensions
24 cm
Extent
xiv, 306 pages
Isbn
9781443460132
Isbn Type
(softcover)
Other physical details
map

Library Locations

    • Brodie Resource LibraryBorrow it
      216 S. Brodie St, Thunder Bay, Ontario, P7E 1C2, CA
      48.381806 -89.246333