Coverart for item
The Resource Is there bacon in heaven? : a memoir, Ali Hassan

Is there bacon in heaven? : a memoir, Ali Hassan

Label
Is there bacon in heaven? : a memoir
Title
Is there bacon in heaven?
Title remainder
a memoir
Statement of responsibility
Ali Hassan
Creator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
For fans of Russell Peters, Trevor Noah, and Mark Critch comes a hilarious debut memoir about life growing up on the outside and finding one's place in the world, by stand-up comic and popular CBC host, Ali Hassan. Growing up, Ali Hassan was a chameleon. His friends came from many different backgrounds and religions--Trinidadian, Parsi, Goan, Hindu, Christian, Sikh. And as a hockey-playing, crockpot-using young man who also knew the words to at least ten Neil Young songs, he could blend in everywhere. But the world has a funny way of reminding you who you are, and his Muslim Pakistani family and community did, too. In this hilarious and insightful memoir based on his hit stand-up comedy, Hassan shares his life-long journey to becoming a cultural Muslim--learning to walk the line of embracing his heritage while still following his passions. From failing to learn Arabic--or much of anything, really--in Sunday school and visiting family in Pakistan (who mocked him constantly) to discovering the wonders of pepperoni as a teenager and being a celebrity judge at Ribfest, Hassan finds himself in compromising situations that challenge his beliefs and very identity. And along the way, his friends and family are there to either encourage or criticize, something he finds eternally confusing. Now, as a father of four, Hassan must explain his point of view to his children. But he can't just 'give them' an identity as a cultural Muslim. Sharing his story is the next best thing
Biography type
autobiography
Cataloging source
NLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Hassan, Ali
Index
no index present
Literary form
non fiction
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Hassan, Ali
  • Comedians
  • Actors
  • Muslims
  • Pakistani Canadians
Target audience
adult
Label
Is there bacon in heaven? : a memoir, Ali Hassan
Instantiates
Publication
Copyright
Note
Call # 792.76028
Control code
on1235417483
Dimensions
24 cm
Edition
Simon & Schuster Canada edition.
Extent
viii, 229 pages
Isbn
9781982149178
Label
Is there bacon in heaven? : a memoir, Ali Hassan
Publication
Copyright
Note
Call # 792.76028
Control code
on1235417483
Dimensions
24 cm
Edition
Simon & Schuster Canada edition.
Extent
viii, 229 pages
Isbn
9781982149178

Library Locations

    • County Park BranchBorrow it
      1020 Dawson Rd, Thunder Bay, Ontario, P7B 1K6, CA
      48.452602 -89.254283